Leave a comment

Mahi Fish Tacos & Fiberlicious Oatmeal

On a non-culinary note, I finished editing my mother’s first book. Success I would say! I did all of the content editing after mom had the grammar and punctuation edited by a professional. I reduced the 460 page book down to 430 pages, now I can add “editor” to my repertoire.

We have moved from Mobile to the Loveliest Village on the Plains. I have worked on mom’s book and worked for my dad. Hopefully I will be starting graduate school before next Fall. I miss reading about revolutions against the USSR and corrupt government officials. I find all of that entertaining, leading me to the inevitable NERD classification. I accept it with open arms.

A couple of weeks ago, Russell and I made Mahi fish tacos. Russell put them up there with LuLu’s fish tacos… Grazie sweetheart 🙂 They were super easy. I made a marinade then split it up, pouring some over the fish for a few hours and I poured some over cabbage for a slaw.

Mahi Fish Tacos

Small container of greek yogurt

1 bunch of scallions

Cilantro, rinsed and chopped

A couple of small peppers (Jalapenos, chiles, whatever is fresh and available from your in-law’s garden)

2 limes (zest & juice)

2-4 pieces of Mahi Mahi

1/2 head of cabbage, chopped

Flour tortillas

Shredded cheese

Black beans (I seasoned some soaked dry beans with cilantro, a bay leaf, and chiles)

Sals

Combine the first 5 ingredients. Pour just enough over fish to marinate, pour the rest of the marinade over cabbage for your slaw.

After 45 minutes to an hour, saute fish 4 minutes on one side, then flip over for about 2 minutes. Shred the fish with a spatula. Then make some tasty tacos with all the protein packed toppings. YUM!

I am really excited to have my grandmother’s sweet potato souffle recipe to try for Thanksgiving. This year, we are heading to Mississippi to celebrate with Russell’s family. I made sure to volunteer to bring dishes that make the holidays special for me: sweet potato souffle and collard greens. Mmmm, pass the cornbread and pepper sauce!

*I have updated and improved on the pb, banana & chocolate baked oatmeal recipe I found online. Here is my version: 

pb, banana & chocolate baked oatmeal

1 cup old fashioned oats

3 Tb millet

2 tb wheat germ

2 tsp flax seed (I toss them in there whole)

3 tb unsweetened applesauce

1 banana

1 heaped tbsp smooth peanut butter

! tb cocoa powder

1 medjool date

pinch pink Himalayan or sea salt

1/2 cup coconut milk or reg. milk

Pre-heat the oven 350.

In a large bowl, mash the banana and stir in the peanut butter and applesauce. Add rest of ingredients.

Grease two oven proof dishes with the margarine and divide the mixture between the two. Bake for 15 minutes.

No sugar added, protein packed, and fiberlicious? I think so!

Leave a Reply

