Leave a comment

Fire Roasted Tomato Basil Soup & Tiramisu

Cooking is one thing that I will always love. It is my out. I dream of a huge kitchen with open windows, industrial style appliances, and a big long dining room table to entertain. I would choose a larger kitchen over a larger living room any day. We have enjoyed homemade pizza with flax seed crust and tons of veggies; even a little soyrizo, yes-soy based vegetarian chorizo sausage. Now before you go nuts on me asking why I would prefer a fake meat over the real deal, last time I checked, sausage didn’t come off the pig tasting like chorizo or italian links. It’s what was added to it that makes it what it is. So yes, I throw soyrizo on pizza, tacos, lasagna, and anything else I would traditionally put sausage in. I will get off my soapbox now.

20111009-192633.jpg

Aside from food, I have been working on editing mom’s book and I am HALF way through! 242 pages down. I have to admit, the style started out as the opposite of the style I am used to reading (Dan Brown, Joel Rosenberg, counterterrorism, etc) but I have been surprised! It’s turning out to be in my genre of reading, go Mom! Now, just to finish the last half…

Fire Roasted Tomato Basil Soup
After a recent visit to Carraba’s, I rediscovered a special spot for tomato basil soup. A place back home occasionally serves up some delicious soup, but it is hit or miss on when thy have it or not. So I found a copycat recipe and made my husband’s and my tastebuds very happy!

You will need:
3 cans fire roasted tomatoes
6 garlic cloves, chopped (reserve 1-2 cloves)
1 yellow onion, diced
2 cups vegetable stock
1/2 cup heavy cream
1TB (or leas) red pepper flakes
2 ounces olive oil
20 fresh basil leaves, chopped

directions:
In a heavy pot on medium high heat, pour in the olive oil and saute onion until translucent. Add 5 chopped garlic cloves and heat with the onion for a couple of minutes, careful not to burn.

In a blender, blend fire roasted tomatoes with the juice and sautéed garlic and onions. I prefer mine not puréed, but with a little texture Return to pot.

Cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Add the veggie stock and cream. Simmer another 10 minutes. Add reserved garlic and fresh basil. Lower your heat to medium and cook for 5 minutes more.
Indulge in your new comfort food.

Tiramisu
Lastly, since we are 4 weeks from moving to Auburn from Mobile, I decides to make my sister-in-law’s favorite dessert, tiramisu, for our family game night last Friday! Tiramisu is a bit more labor intensive than most desserts, but so worth it for a special occasion.

20111009-193852.jpg

Go ahead, be jealous you didn’t have this traditional caffeine, rum, and sugar rush. There are 1 billion recipes out there for tiramisu. Follow these tips below to ensure a crowd pleasing hit!

Tips for Tiramisu
*I wouldn’t even try to make this vegan.
*Make sure your recipe is custard based. If it doesn’t involve whisking egg yolks and sugar, don’t use it.
*Don’t skip out on the rum. That is what gives this dessert it’s signature taste and smell. Mmmmm.
*If the alcohol turns you off, remember you are only using a couple of tablespoons and there’s probably the same percent or more in the real vanilla extract in your spice cabinet 🙂
*Make it a day ahead if at all possible.
*Lastly, marscarpone cheese is expensive and just subbing cream cheese won’t work! For a small container of marscarpone mix: 8oz cream cheese, 2.5 TB sour cream, and 1/4 cup of heavy cream.

Boun appetito!

Leave a Reply

