Leave a comment

Farro, dates, & homemade larabars!

So between going back and forth to Auburn the past few weekends (and this coming up weekend), applying for graduate school for next year, being sick, and being a wife…blogging has been on the backburner. And I digress… (does that even fit there? I havealways wanted to say that. Maybe my thesis paper one day will include that). I am proud to say I have YET to follow off the veggie wagon, I have lost count of the weeks but it’s been 2 months and I am going strong. I do eat fish & shrimp, but that is as far as I go. I love enjoying delicious creations I find in the blog world such as Moroccan couscous, wild rice & lentil pilaf, and other tasty goodness. I will admit I have indulged in some Boca Chick’n patties (soy based & chicken/cruelty free) on wheat buns with pickles, and bbq sauce, and well, enjoyed what one would call “knock off chick fil a sandwiches.” Knock off, meat free, whatever… just delicious.

I have been wanting to try farro ever since I started this “vegetarian journey,” but could not find it… and alas, Earthfare to the rescue (shhh don’t tell Dayspring-I get everything else at the Spring). It is nuttier than barley and the texture is similar to al dente (to the tooth in Italian) pasta; tender on the outside and firm on the inside. Anyways, the delicious nutty grain has found it’s own mason jar in my pantry.

I don’t like dates. I won’t eat them if hand them to me unless they taste, look, and smell like starbursts. Which they don’t. But oddly enough, I stumbled upon 2 yummy recipes that each featured dates, so, needless to say, I bought dates. I made food with dates. I like dates now. I have found that I have come to like/love lots of foods that I would not have touched 3 months ago; like collards. Back to the dates, have you ever had these handy little joys?

Read the ingredients and fall in love. You can pronounce everything and have probably eaten everything on the list at one time in your life last six months. Falling in love with these handy bars could break the bank ($1.50+ each), but with this recipe, you can enjoy anytime for about $0.20 each or less. Enjoy!

Homemade Apple Pie Larabars Ingredients
10 dates, pitted
1 cup dehydrated apple slices, chopped (can use fresh apple, but you will need to dry the bars out when you are finished, otherwise they are too wet)
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 pinch cloves
1 tsp fresh Ginger, grated
1/2 cup raw pecans
1/2 cup raw almonds
palmful of sunflower seeds &/or pumpkin seeds for something extra (not necessary though)

In a food processor, process dates & nuts until chopped. Pour into a bowl. Then process remaining ingredients. Add those to the nuts and dates and mix. With your hands, mold into little minibars, full size bars, balls, or squares. Wrap individually in plastic wrap, and there ya go! Vegan, raw, gluten free, no sugar added, dairy free, kosher, soy free, etc. Even organic if you watch your ingredients. Mmmmm. Homemade energy bars there were husband approved!

Lastly, I went ahead and made breakfast for tomorrow: Pb, Banana, & Cocoa Baked Oatmeal-no sugar added, all natural, and wholesome. I followed this recipe and tossed in some flax seeds for some extra UMPH. I can’t wait to have this tomorrow. There is a tiny bit of agave to sweeten it, so it’s not some sugary breakfast to bring you down an hour after eating it. Yum Yum Yum.

Eat & enjoy. Drink some coffee or hot tea and enjoy that too. Set goals for yourself and stick to them. Ciao 🙂

Leave a Reply

