Leave a comment

Going Veg, Day 3 *Shitake Potstickers*

Started the day with some delciousness topped with peanut butter and local blueberries. This got me ready for day 3 at the new job as well! I am working at a local church and I really enjoy the people I work with and the pastor. God had good timing with this job because Monday, Russell was told that everyone is his position at his company would now be working from home. He has even done laundry 🙂 I may get spoiled!

Shitake potstickers were a bit more labor intensive than I had plan. A solid 2 hours of prepping, chopping, sauteeing, folding, & steaming. But the end result was AMAZING and was a hit! I took several potsticker recipes and took what I liked out of them to create my own potstickers.

To be honest, 3 grocery stores did not have shitake mushrooms, so I settled for buttom mushrooms. I chopped: cabbage, celery leaves, scallions, a white onion, mushrooms, and garlic. I also grated about an 1inch of fresh ginger, added a drizzle of rice wine vinegar, toasted sesame oil, and 2 tb of soy sauce (shoyu sauce would have been a better option-but I snagged one of a dozen bottles my dad had at the lake, so I went with what I had). I stuffed about 30 won ton wrappers with this concoction.

Some turned out pretty, others did not. I let the bottoms of the potstickers brown in a little olive oil, then poured in water & steamed them for 3 minutes.

I made a great dipping sauce with a tiny bit of toasted sesame oil, 3 parts soy sauce to 1 part rice wine vinegar, a little fresh grated ginger and some chili sauce… this stuff is amazing.

I balanced out the meal with adzuki beans and brown basmati rice. Full & happy (and fully & happy husband) 🙂

I am sure by Saturday, I am going to bust out these. Mmmm . My favorite frozen food that I discovered back in my days at Dayspring Nature shoppe 🙂

Leave a Reply

